Follow us

About Lower Paxton Township

Good government for a great community.

Lower Paxton Township building


Lower Paxton Township is an open, vibrant, and progressive municipality working within the bounds of available resources, providing the best quality of life for a growing community and is a recognized leader in central Pennsylvania.


Paxton Township was created in 1729 within Lancaster County.  Organized long before the City of Harrisburg, it was at that time about the size of Dauphin County.  In the years after Dauphin County was established, the township was slowly divided.  Hanover Township was cut off the east in 1736 and Upper Paxton Township was cut off the north in 1767.  What remained in 1767 was then renamed Lower Paxton Township. The divisions continued.  Harrisburg Borough (now the City of Harrisburg) was formed in 1791 and Swatara Township was created in 1799. In 1878 more land was cut of the north and became Middle Paxton Township and in 1815 Susquehanna Township was formed. 

Settling within the township during its colonial period were many German and Scotch-Irish immigrants.  They established several farms and settlements throughout the area which eventually developed into the township's three villages.  The oldest established village was created in 1765, and named "The Town of St. Thomas."  After its founder, Thomas Lingle, died in 1811 the name was unofficially changed to Linglestown, as it is known today.  The Township's other two villages, Paxtonia and Colonial Park, were developed in the 20th Century.

The population was 47,360 at the 2010 census. It is the second-most populous municipality in the county, after Harrisburg (population 49,673).

You can find more information on the history or Lower Paxton Township at